While I Was Away

1920s airplane

For the better part of 30 years, I spent up to half of my year traveling, primarily for work. Then, in November 2012, I made a radical decision to change my career path by working not just domestically but locally.

Over the course of the past 17 months I have not been on a plane, have not left the state of California and have travelled no further than Santa Rosa.  This morning I began a journey to Oklahoma to see family.   I’ve had mixed feelings about this trip and the mere act of travel.  Rising at 3:30 a.m. to make an early flight, those familiar emotions of walking the basenjis in the dead of night, making sure I hadn’t forgotten anything, worrying about flight delays, the annoyance of security check.

It’s early in the joinery, but I am posting this just to note that coming to the sleek newish Terminal 3 at SFO and having TSA recheck makes me want to travel again.  When did it become so civilized?

image

Leave a Reply

