Magpie Tale: Death or Delight?

poets's sleep 1989 chang hong ahn

A few questions raised in this Magpie Tale.

I am America.

I am the Universe.

I am absolutely nothing at all.

An insecure confidence man, I wrap my selves in the crisp green leaves of uncertainty and contradiction.

I am finally leaving the Pavilion of Sorrow that was hidden behind a riot of unruly  junipers.  There was certainty there, but the time has come to depart.

How much strife is needed to produce exceptionalism?  Will it produce a pearl or just a lump of protein?

Each step forward is leading to death or delight.  It is cruelly glorious riddle.  Don’t always trust the answers.  Most often they are questions in disguise.

10 responses to “Magpie Tale: Death or Delight?

  1. My money is on the ‘pearl.’

  2. no, i never trust the answers!….x

  3. I love the image of the “Pavilion of Sorrow”.

  4. The answers may not be the ones we want. The depth of the statements and of the questions is mind boggling.

  5. Lets hope you guys are collectively only sleepimg, otherwise, what a shame !

  6. the last two lines say it all. Perfect.

  7. I wrap my selves in the crisp green leaves of uncertainty and contradiction.
    loved these lines

  8. A pearl such as this magpie tale, indeed.

  9. WoW! Now there’s a few thought provoking questions to ponder over!

  10. I like how you make the bony bits a pearl…

Leave a Reply

